Summer Fruit Crepes, with a side of Liebster Award Nominations

As the weather grows warmer and the grass becomes greener and the gardens around us grow full, I begin craving the fruits of these changes, and I mean that quite literally. I begin craving fruit.  I love eating lots of fruit in the summer, and although it’s still too early for them to be in season at the farmer’s market I love to shop at, I couldn’t wait any longer and had to make something to let my love of fruit shine through.  I settled on crepes because they are a great vessel for so many delicious fillings, and this time I made a summer fruit compote.  I did purchase one important ingredient for these crepes at the farmer’s market though, and that was spring wheat!  How neat it was to find a grain farmer who ground the wheat berries into flour for me right before my eyes, and I was flattered because he gave me generous samples for free.  I’ll definitely be returning to him for my future bread making needs!  Making crepes also allowed me to see how the freshly ground flour behaved in a recipe compared the grocery store flour I was used to.  I must say, at first I was a bit concerned because the batter seemed so coarse and they didn’t turn out as paper thin as I usually make them, but the flavour was so vibrant and alive. I used some in the last loaf of bread I made, and it blew me away.  I’ll be making a post about the sourdough bread I make soon once I’ve done some more experimenting with this new flour.

Bread made with some of my new flour. Still taking pictures with my phone.. sigh.

100% whole wheat bread made with some of my new flour. Still taking pictures with my phone.. sigh.

Here is the crepe recipe I used, and for the fruit, I simply cooked down some frozen fruit with a splash of lemon juice and a sprinkle of sucanat until it was soft and syrupy as cooked fruit is apt to be.

Fruit before being cooked.

Fruit before being cooked.

Fruit after being cooked.

Fruit after being cooked.

The main focus of this post is the continuation of my liebster award duties.  Dear Judit was kind enough to nominate me for a liebster award, and it’s been a fun way to introduce myself and get to know other bloggers too. What’s not to love about giving each other support and and learning from one another?

So, what is a Liebster?  The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Isn’t that sweet? Blogging is about building a community and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and help spread the word about newer bloggers/blogs.

These are the rules for accepting a Liebster Award:

  • The award is given by bloggers to bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.
  • Each blogger should answer the questions the tagger has set you.
  • Choose eleven new bloggers to pass the award to, and link them in your post.
  • Create eleven new questions for the chosen bloggers.
  • Go back to their page and tell them about the award.
  • Each blogger should post eleven random facts about themselves.

Here are some blogs that I nominated because they are wonderful and definitely worthy of the name Liebster and all the niceness it represents… just be prepared to leave hungry and needing to try their recipes!

Bread Love and DreamsLemon Cake Break, BunzBakesGolly Gosh GirlCooking On The FarmMake Our Daily BreadThe Monday BakerThis Was DinnerBee Sweet SurrenderIf You Pass The Big Yellow FarmMesdemoiselles Petit

Here are my questions:

1) What’s your favourite quote?

2) What activity gives you the most meaning and satisfaction?

3) What’s your favourite thing to bake (or have baked for you)?

4) What motivates you to get up in the morning?

5) Who do you admire the most and why?

6) If you had a garden and could only grow three things, what would they be?

7) Is there anything that makes you smile just thinking about it?

8) What is your idea of the perfect meal?

9) What did you like to imagine as a kid?

10) What do you daydream about now?

11) Is there a food or drink that always makes you feel better?  What is your idea of comfort food?

7 comments

  1. Congrats on your Liebstar award!!!

  2. Thank you for this 🙂 you completely deserve your nomination – congratulations! I’ll be responding with a post in a bit 🙂

    1. You’re welcome! Don’t feel pressured to respond right away or anything, just take your time and do it when you feel like it. I’m excited to read your answers! 🙂

  3. Congratulation on your nomination. It works like an energy tonic! Keep blogging!

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you came by my blog, and I like your energy tonic analogy:)

  4. […] I was very kindly mentioned in Searching For Sugarplum’s Liebster Award nominations and am therefore very pleased not only to accept but to be able to nominate 10 brilliant bloggers […]

Leave a comment