Honey Cake French Toast with Cinnamon Bun Syrup

I often like to experiment in the kitchen to see what will result if I change certain variables in what I am baking.  It is not enough for me to just follow a recipe, I want to understand the science behind it and be able to create my own.  I know I am young, and these things will come with more experience.  But sometimes I just want to go out on a limb and see what will happen, and that was how I ended up with a honey cake that rose so high the top expanded and broke off.  Much to my dismay, I underestimated the rising power of my sourdough starter combined with baking soda.  Silly me, I’ve always wanted to try a yeast cake, and my aim was to make a dainty little honey cake because I love honey oh so much, but that will have to wait.  Instead, I present you with Honey Cake French Toast with Cinnamon Bun Syrup.  I flavoured my honey cake with allspice and cinnamon, and will share my recipe when I can promise that it will behave civilly in the oven… In the meantime, I quite enjoyed this spin on the old breakfast favourite.  It’s the perfect snack for satisfying your cinnamon bun craving without having to get out the rolling pin!

Ooey gooey cinnamon bun syrup...

Ooey gooey cinnamon bun syrup…

Ingredients:

1 failed honey cake, sliced into one inch slices
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup butter
3 tbsp. cinnamon
1 tbsp. honey
1/2 cup sugar

Beat your egg, stir in the vanilla, and dip your cake slices into this mixture.  When they have absorbed the egg evenly, fry them in some butter on medium heat until both sides are golden brown.  While these are cooking, start on your Cinnamon Bun Syrup.  Add the butter, sugar, cinnamon and honey to a small pot on medium heat, and bring to a boil.  Allow this mixture to simmer for five minutes on low, stirring occasionally.  Serve immediately on top of your Honey Cake French Toast.  Enjoy!

This was delicious with elk sausages and eggs!

This was delicious with elk sausages and eggs!

13 comments

  1. rachelhammer · · Reply

    Perfectly charming! What resilience– you make a failed honey cake look like success to me

    1. Aww thank you so much! I am so flattered you think it was a success! :)

  2. I want…. :-)

    1. Thank you very much! I wish I could give you some!

  3. The cinnamon syrup sounds delicious! After my own experiences with “escaping cakes” this week, I can sympathise…..

    1. Thanks for the comment! My cake was definitely a learning experience, but yours still looked beautiful in my opinion, and I imagine the taste was even better. I think I’m going to have to try that recipe.

  4. Sounds just my kind of food!

    1. I`m glad, thanks for the comment!

  5. Welcome to the blogging world! Love the message behind your blog… the sugar plum fairies were (and are) my favorite part of the nutcracker. keep it up!

    1. Thanks for such a sweet comment! I’m flattered you like my blog too, yours is awesome There’s just something about sugar plum fairies that capture the imagination isn’t there? :)

  6. Oh my, this sounds sinfully delicious. I have never thought of French toasting cake, I must try it! Thanks for the idea :)

    1. Do try it! It’s fun to experiment with different quick breads too like banana bread, or see what inspires you at a bakery. Any fruit and nut loaf would be delicious. French toast definitely changed for me when I started using homemade bread, the results are so superior. Thanks for your comment!

  7. I’m revisiting some of your previous posts as I miss your gorgeous creations! This is a beautiful idea for using a slightly mischievous honey cake. Love the idea of adding the buttery, caramelised syrup on the top. A match made in heaven! Good luck with your next honey cake trial. Can’t wait to see the recipe!! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

